Over a 43 year span, our student population has grown and their needs have changed. Currently the BCSC provides academic advising and support, leadership development and training for approximately 25 Black Volunteer Student Organizations (BVSOs). The BCSC supports the African American Staff Group (AASG), community service outreach, and various cultural and educational programs.

On this page
Cultural Organizations | Support Organizations | Political Organizations

Cultural Organizations


Black Student Union (BSU)two close friends smiling

Stanford's Black Student Union (BSU) is a social, cultural, and political organization primarily concerned with the continual improvement of life for Black students at Stanford. Originally founded in 1967, the BSU has been instrumental in spurring many imaginative changes in the Black community.

Kaela Farrise , Co-President, kfarrise@stanford.edu
Wade Morgan, Co-President,wgmorgan@stanford.edu

Stanford African Students Association (SASA)

Stanford African Students Association (SASA) was founded in 1979 to foster unity among African students and to create awareness in the Stanford community on issues related to Africa.

Tamer Shabani. President, tshabani@stanford.edu
Ubah Dimbil. Vice President, udimbil@stanford.edu

Caribbean Students Association (CSA)

The Caribbean Students Association (CSA) was revived on Stanford's campus in 1991. CSA has embarked on an educational campaign to foster awareness and involvement in Caribbean affairs.

Erica Grimes, Co-President egrimes@stanford.edu
Gayon Douglas, Co-President gdouglas@stanford.edu

Stanford Ethiopian and Eritrean Student Association (SEESA)

The objective of SEESA is to collect and disseminate information about Ethiopian history, culture, and politics in order to increase awareness about Ethiopia.

Eden Mesfin, President emesfin@stanford.edu
Nardos Girma, Co-President ngirma@stanford.edu

Nigerian Students Association (NAIJA)

NAIJA seeks to educate and celebrate the deep beauty of Nigeria's diverse culture and heritage to fellow Stanford students and neighboring communities.

Aima Ojehomon, President

Akwaaba

The goal of Akwaaba is enlighten the Stanford community about the rich heritage, culture, and current state (e.g. political and social climate) of Ghana.

[Graphic: triangle; purpose: return to top of page]

Support Organizations


Black Recruitment Orientation Committee (BROC)

Established in 1976 as a committee of the Black Student Union, the Black Recruitment Orientation Committee (BROC) introduces prospective and incoming Black students to faculty, staff and students.

Irva Piñeda, Coordinator, igpineda@stanford.edu

Jo Williams, Coordinator, joellew@stanford.edu

Nalani Wakinekona, Coordinator, nalani@stanford.edu

Black and Queer at Stanford (BlaQS)

Black and Queer at Stanford (BlaQS) is a support organization dedicated to the affirmation and advancement of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, questioning, and queer identified Black students, faculty, and staff at Stanford University.

Kiyan Williams, Co-President  
Kevin Roberts, Co-President

Black Men's Forum (BMF)

The Black Men's Forum is an organization started in recognition of a need for an inclusive, meaningful, and structured network of Black male students on Stanford's campus. The goal is to establish and foster a sense of unity, strength, and love among Black males and to direct it towards uplifting the community at large. It also aims to foster positive relationships for black men with others, to develop and highlight the leadership of black men in their communities, and to engage and affect the lives of others beyond the boundaries of Stanford's campus. Through the implementation of community service efforts, the BMF seeks to insure that the strengths, talents and experiences of Stanford black men are reinvested back into the community. Lastly, it seeks to both provide for the professional, academic and personal success of black men at Stanford and to intellectually engage the broad range of issues facing black men and boys.

Christian Beauvoir, President, beauvoir@stanford.edu

Shawn Dye, Vice President, rashawnd@stanford.edu

First Generation and/or Low Income Partnership

FLIP is an undergraduate student group committed to being a resource and community for students who identify as first-generation and/or low income and our allies. FLIP's mission is to raise awareness about class issues, build a first generation and/or low income community that transcends all barriers, foster an open and respectful campus environment, engage in a cross-class dialogue, advocate on behalf of the community, and empower first generation low income students at Stanford. Throughout the year, we hold events such as open student dialogues, faculty lunches, and community forums to support this mission.

Jennifer Telschow, Co-President, telschow@stanford.edu

Najla Gomez, Co-President, najlag@stanford.edu

Multiracial Identified Community at Stanford (MICS)

Alizabeth McGowan, President, amcgowan@stanford.edu

Krista Fryauff, Vice President, kfryauff@stanford.edu

[Graphic: triangle; purpose: return to top of page]

Political Organizations


National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

The Stanford NAACP focuses on spreading political and cultural awareness throughout all communities, not just minority communities. This is done through such activities as voter registration and education drives, distributing information about the stances of candidates in impending elections, sponsoring lectures and other campus events.

Melvin Boone, Co-President, mboone7@stanford.edu

Tianay Pulphus, Co-President, tianayp@stanford.edu

[Graphic: triangle; purpose: return to top of page]