This learning unit covers editing a node's  Workflow section.

  1. The Student Life Workflow section is usually already expanded, but if it isn't, click on the Student Life Workflow link in the Edit form.
    [Image: part of node edit form with collapsed Student Life Workflow section]
  2. The various workflow states that you are allowed to select are listed with radio buttons. Select the appropriate workflow state for the node. Workflow states are explained in Workflow system.
    • Users with the Contributor role will only see two workflow states listed: 01-Draft and 02-Content Review. While you are preparing the node content, keep 01-Draft selected. When you have completely finished and are ready for your manager or group admin to review it before publishing it, select 02-Content Review.
      [Image: part of node edit form with expanded Student Life Workflow section for contributors]

      Once a manager or group admin approves the content and sets it to a higher workflow state, you will no longer be able to edit it.

    • Users with the Power Contributor or higher roles will see all seven workflow states listed.
      [Image: part of node edit form with expanded Student Life Workflow section for power contributors]
  3. Only Group admins and Site admins will be able to see the Schedule settings. These may be used to schedule a transition from one workflow state to another at a specified future date and time. This is useful when you want content to go live at a time you will not be available or when you want multiple pages to go live simultaneously.
    [Image: part of node edit form with expanded Student Life Workflow section for admins]
  4. The Comment field (visible to all site staff) is normally used only when changing the workflow state. It should be used to explain why the state is being changed. For example, "Ready for manager approval", "Content approved, ready for Placement Review", or "Page no longer appropriate, removed."
Gateway Learning Audience: 
Gateway categories: