Skip to content Skip to navigation

James W. Lyons Award


The James W. Lyons Award for Service was established in 1981 and named in honor of JIM LYONS who served as Stanford's dean of student affairs from 1972-1990. This annual award recognizes and honors current students of the Stanford community for their exceptional service and contributions made through a variety of departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects on and off-campus.


Service contributions that are above the normal level of dedication, in areas or situations of extraordinary need, and that result in substantial, positive change.

Nominate a Student

The deadline to submit a nomination for the James W. Lyons award is April 25, 2019. Please submit your nomination here.

2018 James W. Lyons Award recipients

§  Tina Cheuk - PhD Student

§  Pau Guinart - PhD Student

§  Katie Hufker - Class of 2018

§  Zina Jawadi - Class of 2018

§  Jasmine Mueller-Hsia - Class of 2018

§  Carson Olivia James Smith - Class of 2019

§  Tesay Yusef - Class of 2018

§  Harrison Phillips (not pictured) - Class of 2018

The awards were presented at a dinner on May 21, 2018 at the Stanford Faculty Club. Jim Lyons, former dean of student life and award namesake, Chris Griffith, the dean of students, as well as Susie Brubaker-Cole, vice provost for student affairs, thanked the students for their leadership and service to the community.